01225 825691


Captains’ Scramble raises funds for hospital

On Sunday, 3rd August, fourteen teams of four took part in the Combined Captains’ Charity Florida Scramble at Farrington Park.

A Florida Scramble is where each of the four players in the team tee off. The best ball is then chosen and the team then plays their balls from where the best ball was.

The difference between a Florida and Texas Scramble is that in a Florida Scramble, the player whose ball had the best position that was chosen for all of the team’s balls to be played from ‘stands aside’ and the three other players play their ball from that position.

The best ball is then chosen from those three players’ shots and all but the player whose ball position is chosen, plays from that position and so on until the ball is holed out.

Teams play off 1/8 of their combined handicap. Ali Shanks, Chris Shanks, Louis Archer and Kevin Brimble (Club Captain) came first, with a thirteen under gross 60, nett 55.625. Clive Stilwell, Sue Stilwell, Steve Hobbs and Mandy Hobbs came second, with a ten under gross 63, nett 57.000. Mike Goodliff, Marc Wilkinson, Paul Goodridge and Clayton Merrett came third, with a nine under gross 64, nett 57.250.

Nearest the pins were won by: Sue Stilwell on the fifth hole, Don Perry on the eighth hole, June Symonds on the tenth hole, Rich Salter on the fifteenth hole.

Prizes were donated, enabling the entire day’s competition entry fees of £280 to be added to the amounts raised so far at the club for the Captains’ Charity, the RUH’s Forever Friends Appeal. The contribution of entry fees was bolstered by the £51.39 donated at the halfway hut, where Richard Ager helped Ellie Ager serve homemade cakes and refreshments to the players.

Farrington Park Ladies

On Wednesday, 30th July, Farrington Park’s Didi Ager (Lady Captain) and Clare Salter were one of 68 pairs to play in the LGU’s Coronation Foursome Regional Final, held at Came Down, near Dorchester. Farrington Park’s pair came in with 36 points, the fourth highest points score of the day.

Unfortunately, only the winning pair of each regional final proceeds to the grand final at St Andrew’s, so, whilst Didi and Clare finished well placed in the field, they will not proceed beyond the regional final.

Nineteen pairs competed in the Ladies Section’s Ahlberg Assiette, an annual trophy competition whose format has changed from a gross medal to a Four Ball Better Ball pairs competition this year. Conditions were glorious and the summer roll that players dream of over the winter was very much in place.

Scores at the winning end were nothing short of fantastic. Maureen Charlton and Pauline Young won, with 42 points, Bobby Appleby and Corrina Bates came second and Elaine Davidson and Sandra Hares came third, each pair with forty points on countback. The competition was Sandra Hares’ first since obtaining her handicap – a most promising start. Bobby Appleby and Mandy Hobbs had two spots on the fifth hole and Terri O’Shea had a two spot on the fifth and eighth holes.

Nine Ladies took part in a qualifying Stableford on Saturday, 2nd August. Liz Thomas came first, Jo Carter, second, and Jackie Walker, third, all with 35 points on countback.

Farrington Park Seniors

The success of Farrington Seniors Golf Section was confirmed by the highest ever turnout for a Stableford competition, at which 84 entries competed. Conditions were set up for some superb scores. Result of nearest the pin competition: fifth, Mike Ashwin, eighth, John Butler, fourteenth, Roger Stone, fifteenth, Terry Thatcher.

Results of the Stableford Competition, Division One, first, John Butler, 42 points (countback), second, Barry Hall, 42 points, third Graham Price, 41 points, fourth, Mike Ashwin, 40 points, fifth, Rob Chappell, 39 points.

Division Two: first, Philip Michael, 44 points, second, Eddie Cheasely, 43 points, third, Jim Farmer, 41 points, fourth, Eric Nott, 40 points, fifth, Bob Wright, 39 points.

Division Three, first Steve Mitchell, 43 points, second, Boyd Francis, 37 points, third, Jim Wring, 36 points, fourth, John Holland, 35 points, (countback), fifth, Derek McCaig, 35 points.

Article from http://www.mnrjournal-somerset.co.uk

Post a comment